Another Great Review for The Perfume Alibi

Thanks for the awesome write-up of The Perfume Alibi!

I truly appreciate every review – thanks again for taking the time out from your busy schedules to write such a studied review!

5.0 out of 5 stars Twisty, turny, mind-melting joyride, August 8, 2012
By Donald Case – See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: The Perfume Alibi (Kindle Edition)

Little did I know that when I picked up The Perfume Alibi that I’d be up late reading a “can’t put it down” kind of tale. Cruden deftly weaves a multiple timeline story that would make Quentin Tarantino nod his head in appreciation. With a hilarious backbone of a late-night traffic stop that is much more than it appears, Cruden anchors his characters to the present while exploring their quite sordid, Machiavellian backstories. As the story unfolds, it gets more and more interesting and exciting as the tension builds with twists and turns that I dare you predict.

Fans of pop culture will appreciate the many nods to (and sometimes even blatant pointing and yelling at) TV, SNL skits and cult classic films. The Perfume Alibi’s most surprising element, to me at least, is how funny it is. With such serious business as murder, greed and lust on the table, one wouldn’t expect to be laughing so much.

This is a wonderful debut for Cruden and I am eagerly awaiting his next book.

Leave a comment